fat (wo)man in a little coat

Yeah, the title’s from Tommy Boy.  Shameless ripoff, right?  Well, it’s exactly how I felt at the running store last weekend.

YES.  RUNNING STORE.

A little history: for those of you who don’t know, my friend Laura convinced me to run the 500 Festival Mini Marathon this year.  After a lot of cajoling, convincing, and positive reinforcement, I agreed.  And as January started to coast by in ice-covered glory, I decided it was time to get some gear.

My first (ever!) trip to the running store started out great.  The very helpful folks put me on a treadmill to check my stride (turns out I’m a pretty straightforward runner — who knew?), got me hooked up with some great shoes, and recommended some accessories.  But then, when I decided to splurge on a running outfit, I realized that I was at least six sizes larger than the biggest women’s gear they stocked.

Fat (wo)man in a little coat…

Now, I understand that you want to cater to your core audience.  I’m very certain that the vast majority of runners that frequent this store are much, much smaller than I am.  I’m a big girl, and I know this — hence the motivation to, you know, RUN.  Vicious circle, isn’t it?

Not knowing where to turn, I asked my aforementioned friend what she would recommend.  And lo and behold, I received an incredible amount of responses from runners who had the same problems.  I was able to generate a shopping list online from places that cater to larger athletes.  And you know what?  I bet those places make a KILLING.  Note to neighborhood running store: YOU ARE MISSING OUT.

I’m waiting on my new gear to arrive and getting ready to start a training program on Jan 20th.  I have no idea what to expect, but at least I’ll be wearing a coat that fits!

5 Responses to “fat (wo)man in a little coat”

  1. You say *I* convinced you to run it, eh? I don’t think so: you already WANTED to run it, and I just convinced you to sign up 🙂 I am SO EXCITED for you. There is nothing like the feeling of crossing your first finish line!

    Also, I’d love to see you keep blogging about plus-sized running gear—what works, what you love, what you hate. I’ll pass it along to all the people who replied to my email; I’m sure they’d love to see more attention drawn to it, too!

  2. Welcome to the world of Big Girl Running! Your blog is fantastic – and a little like a time warp for me. I started running 5 years ago, and it was like a Shopping Death Match every time I walked into a running store to get gear – so I’m glad we could help you out!

    Just another note – get ready for the lovin at the Indy Mini. It is a GREAT first race for a BG runner – the people are So, so nice, and there are lots of BGs running their first race – and they’re super supportive. Kick some training ass, and good luck!

    (And when you’re ready for more, let us know – I have a list of BG friendly races too!)

  3. I am also a big girl, and also training for the mini, and also in need of gear. Can you share some of the resources you found online? Thank you so much!

  4. Great blog, good luck with future running if you decide to.

  5. Hello!

    I know that this isn’t exactly a comment, but I couldn’t find your e-mail address, and I wanted to write and tell you about a new website for artists, musicians, fashion designers, and filmmakers: http://www.PutItOn.com. I’ve been using the site as an artist and have my work there, and am trying to support it because I believe in it. Basically, the site allows artists from all over the world to connect, display their portfolios, and sell their work (with NO commission taken!). The site gives artists a FREE gigabyte of space to showcase their portfolios, allows you to stream audio and video works, lets you create live personal broadcasts, and translates any writing into ten different languages. If you could take the time to visit the site, and if you like it too, let your readers know about it, and even sign up yourself or link to it on your site it would be greatly appreciated! We are trying to make a go of helping out artists everywhere and are trying to get the word out, so please help us out if you like the site after checking it out! Thank you!

    All the best,
    Sarah at PutItOn.com

Leave a Reply

