it slices! it dices! it juliennes!

Those of you who know me well know that I cannot cook.  As in burning water, out-of-a-box, drive-through-window CANNOT MAKE FOOD.

One of my resolutions this year is to start using the kitchen for more than a place to store my beer and Eggo waffles.  In that vein, I’ve started accumulating things that one might need in order to make meals, such as pots, pans, spatulas and even measuring cups.  The crowning achievement, however, was over Christmas when I received… wait for it… A Cuisinart food processor and mandolin slicer.

And now I’m the Barefoot Freaking Contessa.

In the past few days, I’ve made (not from a box or a can, but actually PIECED TOGETHER FROM SCRATCH): broccoli/cauliflower soup, aloo gobi, poppy cheddar seed crackers, roasted red pepper and feta spread, falafel, tzatziki, vegan chocolate cupcakes and lasagna.   I don’t know what kind of light bulb finally went off in my head, but there’s just this feeling of accomplishment you get from pulling a dish out of the oven that originated in your brain, not a plastic container.

Someone should have told me about this before I spent the better part of my twenties living on Spaghettios and Fudgesicles.

6 Responses to “it slices! it dices! it juliennes!”

  1. D'red Ruby Says:

    Hey good for you chickky! Cooking your own meals is so rewarding, and much healthier than any thing made by Chef Boyardi!

  2. Buzzstein Says:

    Mandolin slicer? Why would one want to slice a perfectly good musical instrument?? 😉

    Anyway cool! I wish I could cook.

  3. So proud of you!

    And honestly, anybody who can read can cook. Enjoy all your gadgetry!

  4. Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours
    and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

  5. iAoom.com is an online shopping.We provides online shoppers the best value and a superior customer experience. We are honest, helpful, efficient, accountable and trustworthy, and we are committed to profitability and service.Because of our fantastic goods and service, 90% of our new customers would place their next orders. See more product details at http:// http://www.iaoom.com Tags: online shopping,casio,citizen,diesel,dkny,gucci,seiko,tag heuer,timex,xbox360,nitendo,playstation,gadget,meters,detectors,musical instrument, toys,mobile battery,chargers,sollar cell battery,tablet accessorie s,mobile accessories

  6. Fashion Louis Vuitton women’s handbag, the 90% highest prices, free shipping!

    Louis Vuitton fashion brands, products include Louis Vuitton man bag, lady bag, glasses, wallet, belt etc.
    The highest price of 90%, within 7 days of service, free shipping, merchandise discount.
    Welcome to!

    Details: Louis Vuitton flagship store

Leave a Reply

