a stopwatch, a whistle and a smile

Last night, I coached my first official roller derby practice.

No, I’m not giving up my role as a skater – I like hitting people way too much to give up now. 😉  Instead, our league is trying out a coaching by committee concept.  And I really love it!  About a half-dozen of us are alternating running practices.  It’s teaching us to respond and react to different types of direction, as well as highlighting the different skill sets of the committee coaches.

Me?  I’m not a hardass.  I love strenuous workouts, but I don’t love yelling.  I’m a firm believer in the ‘catching more peas flies (thanks, Jason) with honey than you do with vinegar’ mantra.  So my first practice last night focused on drills that had an element of humor to them.  On a blustery, cold, rainy, no-one-really-wanted-to-be-there night, I think it worked out pretty well.

Our last activity of the evening (before core and stretching) was Queen of the Rink.  Each skater for themselves.  Knock a skater out of bounds or on the ground, and they’re out.  (legal hits only, of course. ) Last person standing wins.  I was feeling SO good about myself, having weathered a couple of awesome hits – and then a can-opener type jab to my chest completely laid me out.   

Note to self:  when you feel yourself getting cocky, BEND YOUR KNEES.  😉 Because at that point, someone’s gunning for you.

5 Responses to “a stopwatch, a whistle and a smile”

  1. You catch PEAS with honey?

  2. hahaha – talking about mixing metaphors. Woo.

    Those would be flies.

    I’m going to get more coffee now. 😉

  3. I was thinking of this:

    “I eat my peas with honey
    I’ve done it all my life
    They do taste kinda funny
    But it keeps them on the knife”

  4. Awe man I new you guys would have fun without me! Sounds like it was a great practice.

  5. Beattie Sedgwick Says:

    Screama, you did an AWESOME job. I really like to work on skills (especially hip checking because I’m still learning to feel comfortable doing them). The drills also made us engage with eachother, which we need. I think Dex gave me a can-opener because my chest hurts. That’s probably how he won QUEEN of the rink.

Leave a Reply

