friday randomness

Not much time today, so I present the following: 

*In the grand saga of Stephen Colbert vs. The Decemberists, it looks as though Colbert emerged… um… victorious?  Check out this AP article (must have really been a slow news day!) and watch the video here.  I’m just in awe that they got Henry Effing Kissinger to come in on the joke.

*Congratulations to the illustrious Dodge of MOKB!  He’s (finally) a proud daddy.  Go over and send your well-wishes, and check out his music blog while you’re there… it’s one of the best around. 

*Apparently happiness is distracting!  I suppose this is true; after all, how many of us have immersed ourselves in working, drinking, or other activities to get our minds off of a breakup?  It could also explain why I’ve been having so much trouble getting things accomplished lately… 

*My friend lmb has a great follow-up to my ‘rules of engagement’ blog post.  Ah, the things you experience while working retail…   

*I’m fascinated with Google Zeitgeist – a complete composite of search terms for 2006.  It hurts my soul that “Paris Hilton” is in a number one spot on anything, let alone search engine hits. (h/t commonplacebook)   

*Torpor Indy talks about the elephant (or should I say, Wild Turkey) in the room this holiday season: the fact that liquor stores won’t be open on New Year’s Eve or Christmas Eve this year.  Those days fall on Sundays, and  thanks to our nearly archaic Blue Laws, no alcohol sales allowed.  I realize there are more pressing things to worry about, but I do kind of shudder at the thought of ringing in the New Year at a bad party… sober.  Ew.

2 Responses to “friday randomness”

  1. That’s why you buy your liquor on Saturday. 😉

    That’s my plan anyways.

  2. Brian Gray Says:

    Hey Kaj!

    Just wanted to say thanks for the Xmas card.

    I looked all over TOA as well as this site and couldn’t find your email, so I’m just posting here.

    Send me an email…I’ll give all the updates.

    bg

Leave a Reply

