auld lang something-or-other

In keeping with trite blogger tradition, here’s a meme for 2006. See below for the sordid details…

1. What did you do in 2006 that you’d never done before? 

Joined a roller derby team.  Took a gondola ride.  Changed the oil in my car.  Played guitar in front of people without running off the stage in fright.  Drank an irish car bomb (okay, more than one).  Went on a blind date. Ate congee. 

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I hereby resolve not to ever make another resolution.  Does that work?

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Well, my co-worker, who is literally close to me, is due any day now, so she might pop it out before the end of the year.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Unfortunately, yes.  I miss you, Annie.

5. What countries did you visit?

None

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?

Patience, courage, a new car and a clear sense of direction

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I’m not good with dates. I more remember times of the year.  Like a balmy May evening playing pool, a beautiful September gondola ride on the canal at dusk, a lazy Sunday in January curled up watching football, a crisp December night… Oh, but my birthday (September 26) and my graduation day (May 13) stand out.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

That I’m able to be here writing about it.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not being able to walk away gracefully.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

A pretty bad groin pull and a knee injury from derby, but nothing serious (thankfully).

11. What was the best thing you bought?

My roller skates!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My lovely friends, who know exactly how to simultaneously comfort and encourage me.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? 

Can I list “The Government” as one person?  The list is too, too long.

14. Where did most of your money go?

concert tickets.  food at restaurants like Yats and La Hacienda.  Derby gear.  Car repairs.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I totally fell for the insanity that is roller derby, and it took over my life for the middle part of the year. J

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?

“Nervous Tic Motion”, Andrew Bird; “Mister Moon”, Mando Diao; “Give Me Back My Mullet”, Born Again Floozies; “Waterwings”, Scourge of the Sea;  “Sexy Back”, Justin Timberlake; “Fidelity”, Regina Spektor;  “Roller Derby Queen”, Jim Croce; “Skeleton Key”, Margot & The Nuclear So & Sos; “Crazy”, Gnarls Barkley; “You Are The Light”, Jens Lekman; “O Valencia!”, The Decemberists;  and many, many more.  I have a bad habit of associating songs to events in my life.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder? Sadder, but hopeful.
b) thinner or fatter? I weigh more, but more of it is muscle (thanks, derby!) I look the same, though.
c) richer or poorer? Getting over that financial hump, hopefully.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Hosting parties, painting, taking road trips, organizing my piles of random crap

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Being indecisive, eating, hiding from the truth

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I’ll be keeping a low profile with the family up in Northeast BFE, eating my grandpa’s cooking and tormenting my little brother (hey, what can I say… it never, ever gets old!)

21. Did you fall in love in 2006?

A few near misses, but there’s still time left, right?

22. How many one-night stands?

Like I’m going to answer this honestly! (seriously, none.  They’re always at least several-night stands.)

23. What was your favorite TV program?

I watch so little TV… I suppose I could say Monday Night Football, Mythbusters, Rollergirls, and the Indianapolis Music Channel where they show the strange music videos at all hours. 

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nah, but there are a few on my shit list for sure.

25. What was the best book you read?

“On Beauty”, by Zadie Smith, with “Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life” by Amy Krause Rosenthal a close second. 

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I discovered that I no longer feel the need to stay inside a self-imposed boundary line of what I think “cool” music should be… and as a result, I’ve immersed myself in such insanely good stuff this year I couldn’t list them all if I tried. 

But I will say that The Scourge Of The Sea made the biggest impression.

27. What did you want and get?

A killer birthday party.  My degree.  A Democratic majority.

28. What did you want and not get?

A new car.  Love.  A kitten.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?

I haven’t seen many that weren’t video rentals, but I LOVED “Little Miss Sunshine” and I thought “The Science of Sleep” was pretty great as well.  And Happy Feet was adorable.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? 

For the big 2-8 I had a wonderful, margarita-and-karaoke-filled night on the town with a dozen of my closest friends.  It was the best thing I could have asked for.  

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Not sure if anything really would have… I had my ups and downs, but for the most part ’06 was a positive year.  Maybe an endless supply of cash and an apartment in Chicago?

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?

“utter lack thereof” is the best explanation I can give.

33. What kept you sane?

WOXY.com, gin and tonic, friendship and solitude.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? 

Fancy? How bourgeois!  I have to say that I’ve had a crush on Colin Meloy ever since the Decemberists’ new album came out.  Plus, there’s my long-standing fangirl status as an admirer of Mike Doughty and Ryan Adams.  Notice a pattern here?

Oh, and Barack Obama has the loveliest smile.

And is it awful of me to say that Dave Calabro could come and anchor my sportscast anytime he wanted?

35. What political issue stirred you the most?

Nationally? Katrina.  Locally?  The contentious race between Densborn and Orentlicher.

36. Who did you miss?

Many, many people.

37. Who was the best new person you met?

I met a ton of new and wonderful people in 2006, but I have to say Lu.  She’s been my partner in crime/roommate/witness/confidante/awesome potato and she’s the best. 

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.

I am the sum of my own parts, as addled and strange as those parts may be.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

While you make pretty speeches
I’m being cut to shreds
You feed me to the lions
a delicate balance

When this just feels like spinning plates
I’m living in cloud cuckoo land
And this just feels like spinning plates
Our bodies floating down the muddy river
Like Spinning Plates
-Radiohead

One Response to “auld lang something-or-other”

  1. […] So here’s my responses to the auld lang meme Kelly posted earlier today: […]

Leave a Reply

