meme-ville

20 Answers to 20 Questions

Originally from Steph, now ganked from Nate. Fear isn’t the mind-killer, boredom is. Trust me.

1. Explain what ended your last relationship?

Last SERIOUS relationship? I don’t really want to discuss it. Last not-so-serious relationship? The other person not knowing what they wanted– out of life, out of a relationship, and just in general. They got frightened, broke it off suddenly.

It happens. I wish him well and miss him very much.

Both of them, actually.

2. When was the last time you shaved?

A couple of days ago. My legs get extremely dry in the late fall/early winter, so I’m trying to keep them relatively non-furry so I can put on lotion without feeling weird.

3. What were you doing this morning at 8 a.m.?

I was just getting off the Keystone Ave exit on I465, heading to work. It was definitely a painless commute this morning.

4. What were you doing 15 minutes ago?

Finishing up an Edy’s WholeFruit bar and contemplating doing another load of laundry. This place is really the Den of Iniquity on a Wednesday night, let me tell you!

5. Some things you are excited about?

I’m excited to see the extended family over Christmas. I haven’t seen most of them in quite awhile, and even though there’s some residual tension and drama (I’m sort of the “black sheep”, so to speak) it always makes me feel better when I get to stuff myself silly and watch football with my dad. I’m excited at the flurry of early 2007 tour dates announced this week (Andrew Bird! Mission of Burma!). I’m excited that Johnny Marr joined up with Modest Mouse. I’m excited about the Two Hearted Ale calling my name in the fridge. 🙂

6. What is your favorite flavor of JELL-O?

I’m really not a gelatin fan, but if it has cut up bananas and mandarin oranges in it, I’ll eat it.

7. Your prom night, what do you remember about it?

Sophomore year, I went with Brad McDaniel, a geeky-cute Junior on whom I had a pretty intense crush. He picked me up in his mom’s Grand Marquis, I had my hair curled and pinned up a la Shirley Temple, and I had a blast dancing with my friends (we sort of split up and went our separate ways at the dance). I remember dancing with him to the last song, “I’ve Had The Time of My Life”, and laughing like crazy while he pretended to croon it to me (loudly and out of key).

Junior year, I was dumped the month before the dance, but at the last minute, I decided to go stag. (If it’s a lone female, do you still call it “stag”? Weird.) I borrowed a beautiful sample dress from my choir teacher, found some cheap diamond-esque costume jewelry, put a bunch of flowers in my hair and headed off to the dance. I remember seeing the quiet, brooding senior named Sean (that my dad had expressly forbidden me to date) sitting in the corner, his date having abandoned him almost immediately after they entered the dance. Once again, though, my shyness stayed firmly rooted, and I didn’t learn until long after that night that the crush was reciprocal. That night, the afterprom was more fun than the actual dance, and I remember my friends’ bands (Torque? Static Fly?) playing in the high school cafeteria to throngs of adoring teenage fans.

Senior year, I was dumped the week before prom (never trust a guy who rents a circus tuxedo and drives a wood-paneled station wagon!) and went to the dance with three other single gals. The pre-prom dinner was at Old Country Buffet, and I’m fairly certain there were some pre-Prom libations as well. We debated going through the grand march together (God knows that would have set off the rumor mill… OMG, two girls paired up!) but opted out in favor of dancing our collective asses off for the entire night. I remember that the DJ was actually not bad—I recall hearing PJ Harvey and a host of other mid-nineties alternarock classics. For someone who doesn’t put much stock into societal rituals, Prom holds a lot of good memories for me.

8. Do you have any famous ancestors?

Nah, not really. It’s rumored that we’re direct descendants of Ulysses S. Grant, but my dad’s never been able to exactly pin the lineage down.

9. Last thing received in the mail?

the holiday address labels I ordered last week.

10. How many different beverages have you had today?

Coffee, diet berries and cream Dr. Pepper, more coffee, and a Dos Equis Dark at dinner tonight. Getting ready for a glass of water here in a moment.

11. Do you ever leave messages on people’s answering machine?

Yeah, if it’s fairly urgent or I want them to know that I called. Otherwise, I’ll call back or drop them an email.

12. Do you draw your name in the sand when you go to the beach?

No, but I’m a master at sand castles.

13. Any plans for Friday night?

Working at the bookstore, then probably going to see the Steepwater Band with Emerson Rose at Locals Only.

14. Do you like what the ocean does to your hair?

Um, what does it do to my hair? I’m from the Midwest, remember? No oceans ‘round these parts.

15. Have you ever received one of those big tins of 3 different popcorns?

They were my Grandma Red’s favorite present to give. God, I miss her.

16. Do you re-use towels after you shower?

Yes—this is a direct effect of growing up in a household where the towels were pretty much rationed. I’m still guilty of the sniff test sometimes.

17. Describe your keychain(s)?

Fitness club pass, Borders card, Marsh and Kroger cards (I hate those damn shopper cards!), apt/mailbox/car keys, bike lock key, Grandpa’s house key, and a small keychain with a silver dangling heart. My mini Florida license plate that said “Kelly” broke off the other day, which makes me sad—I’ve had that on my keychain since 1999.

18. Where do you keep your change?

In my blue pottery bowl that Chloe gave me for my birthday all those years ago, and in my red satin embroidered change purse at work.

19. When was the last time you spoke in front of a large group of people?

I’ve done some group speaking in my political dealings. Most recently, I suppose it was at a fundraiser hosted in late summer. The biggest group I’ve ever spoken to was about 800 people, at Hoosier Girls State back when I was a junior in high school. I don’t get nervous, thankfully.

20. What kind of winter coat do you own?

A burnt orange, classic wool peacoat. I LOVE it.

3 Responses to “meme-ville”

  1. Re #2: Nivea Body Smooth Sensation. I swear. The commercials are painfully cheesy, but it’s worth the extra few dollars. I have to use it during the winter to avoid lizard-skin.

    Okay, I’m done girling out on you. For now.

  2. a thousand thank yous for the recommendation! I’m stopping by the drugstore on lunch… the situation is getting desperate. 🙂

  3. Let me know how your new moisturizing regime goes 🙂 That stuff is amazing. You’ll start asking perfect strangers to feel how soft your skin is.

Leave a Reply

