Prettybaldlady Benefit Show

If you don’t know Lori Baumgarten, you should.

She’s an amazing dancer (see her website here), a fixture in the Indianapolis arts community and just an all-around great person. She was diagnosed with a particularly aggressive form of breast cancer a few months ago and is working her way through chemotherapy– hence the nickname (and donation website) Prettybaldlady.

The treatment is astronomically expensive, and Lori doesn’t know me from adam (we met briefly at an event at the beginning of the year) but I know many people in her circle of friends, and I’m glad to help in any way I can.

So here’s the deal: Friday, December 8th, there’s a two-tiered fundraiser happening in Fountain Square. From 6-8 p.m., there is an art show at Halstead Architects (featuring artists like Jason Sho Green, Kyle Ragsdale, Jim Walker and Quincy Owens– all artwork starts at just $50!)a raffle, and a belly-dancing performance by Belly Belly.

Then, from 9-midnight, Radio Radio is hosting a benefit concert featuring Eric Kinsey, Arrah & The Ferns, The Lovemeknots, Ebeneezer & The Hymnmasters, and the Born Again Floozies. $5 gets you in to see a spectacularly eclectic array of music– I’d say one of the best lineups I’ve seen all year– for a wonderful cause.

If by chance you can’t make it down to Fountain Square for one or both events on the 8th, please consider donating what you can to Lori’s medical expenses on the prettybaldlady homepage. And if I see any of you at Radio Radio, I’ll buy you a beer!

Leave a comment